Category: Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete

Wednesday, December 16

Mind, Body, and Spirit: Sponsored Athletes 2020 Wrap-Up

In a year unlike any other, the Senior Planet Sponsored Athletes took a holistic approach to wellness — putting physical and mental health to the test.

Friday, November 20

Liliana Cortez, 76: Learning Every Day

Gardening in the Bronx? This Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete is finding creative ways to stay fit and healthy.

Friday, November 6

David Hill, 63: Spreading His Wings

Sponsored Athlete David is embracing retirement and navigating his way through the pandemic by walking, running, and even birding.

Friday, October 23

Joan Janek, 67: Stress Fighter

After surviving a series of stressful events, Sponsored Athlete Joan is sharing healthy tips for living life to the fullest.

Friday, October 16

Burr Daly, 81: Training in the Era of COVID-19

This Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete won’t let anything get in the way of his training. With help from friends, and technology, Burr is back on the track.

Wednesday, September 2

Liliana Cortez, 76: Strong and Ready to Serve

A lifelong interest in yoga and other holistic practices helped Liliana Cortez make an important decision.

Monday, August 17

Happy Senior Citizens Day!

Join us on August 21 as we mark Senior Citizens’ Day with a special Zoom discussion about following your dreams.

Friday, June 5

Joan, 67: Finding Motivation During COVID-19

We caught up with Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete Joan Janek, who is putting down the cake, and picking up the tempo!

Wednesday, April 15

Carol Klenfner, 74: Play is the Best Four Letter Word

Ping Pong opened up a whole new world – with new friends (and a few awards!) for this senior athlete.

Thursday, April 2

David Hill, 63: Putting In The Work

Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete David Hill shares how he’s been rejuvenated through running.

Monday, March 16

Joan Janek, 67: Mastering Fear

Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete Joan Janek shares how pushing her physical boundaries helped her prepare for the fight of her life.

Friday, February 28

Burr Daly, 81: It’s Never Too Late

A partial knee replacement changed Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete Burr Daly’s perspective on his love of track and field.

Friday, February 14

Introducing the Senior Planet Sponsored Athletes

Find fitness inspiration to strengthen your heart this Valentine’s Day and beyond.