Work & Money

Monday, November 14, 2022

Tips for Charitable Giving

Many people contribute to their favorite charities on Giving Tuesday (Nov. 29), but do they know how to reap the tax benefits?

Thursday, November 3, 2022

Avoiding Scams on Veterans

Thank you for your service, veterans. Learn how to avoid being a target for scammers.

Monday, October 10, 2022

What’s New in Medicare for 2023

It’s that time again! Medicare re-enrollment runs Oct. 15 through Dec. 7. Get the latest info here!

Monday, September 12, 2022

Back to School – for Entrepreneurs

Covid-19 accelerated retirees’ moves to return to work and try entrepreneurship., but they need to add to their ‘toolbox” with some adult education.

Wednesday, August 31, 2022

Social Security Update – Means Testing?

With the 79th anniversary of the Social Security Act, retirees (and most workers) worry about its solvency; will it run out of money to pay benefits? What can be done about it?

Thursday, August 18, 2022

Gloria Goodwin, Accidental Entrepreneur

Gloria Goodwin became an entrepreneur almost by accident; here’s her unexpected entrepreneurial odyssey, in a 47 year career in travel…with no plans to retire.

Monday, August 8, 2022

Life Insurance: Forgotten Financial Tool

Life insurance should be a key component of your financial plan, especially for retirees and pre-retirees.

Monday, July 11, 2022

Pets and Passwords: What People Forget in their Wills

Make sure your estate plan include some things that are frequently omitted or overlooked – pets and passwords. 

Monday, June 13, 2022

Is an Annuity Right for You?

Is an annuity right for you? One of Americans’ biggest fears is running out of money in retirement.

Thursday, June 2, 2022

Estafas y Seguro Social

Su número de Seguro Social es la clave para financiar su jubilación… o la clave que los estafadores pueden usar para estafarlo y robarle su dinero. Aquí se explica cómo mantenerlo a salvo.

Thursday, June 2, 2022

Scams and Social Security

Your Social Security number is the key to funding your retirement…or the key scammers can use to defraud you and steal your money. Here’s how to keep it safe.

Monday, May 9, 2022

New Rules in Estate Planning

The Secure Act changed the rules for non-spousal inherited retirement accounts; some upfront planning spares your inheritors a big tax bill.

Friday, May 6, 2022

Open Thread Update: Money Hacks!

Readers share their best money-saving tips. Who knew white vinegar was so versatile? Add your best money-saving hacks here!

Monday, April 11, 2022

Tax Time Tips for Older Adults

With the filing deadline looming ahead, it’s the perfect opportunity to look at what changes might be in store for retirees and seniors.

Thursday, March 24, 2022

Do You Need a Retirement Coach?

If you think retirement is a smooth transition from the office to margaritas at poolside all day…you might need a retirement coach.