Open Thread

Sunday, July 31, 2022

Open Thread: Sleepy Time. Not!

How did sleep suddenly become a challenge?

Friday, July 29, 2022

Open Thread Update: Why Is Staying in Touch So Hard?

For some reason, it seems to take the logistical equivalent of a moon launch just to arrange a simple get together with two or three people.

Friday, July 15, 2022

Open Thread Update: Shopping Sprees and Retail Therapy

Art supplies? Flowers? Hats? Readers share the shopping splurges that lift them when they need some retail therapy. What’s yours?

Friday, July 1, 2022

Open Thread Update: Class Reunion

Where were you in ’72? Attending a 50th high school reunion is a walk down memory lane. In penny loafers. What was your reunion like?

Friday, June 17, 2022

Open Thread Update: Whining and Dining

Our readers weigh in on noisy restaurants, tiny portions, big prices, and how to dine with attitude when shown to a table near the kitchen.

Friday, June 3, 2022

Open Thread Update: Pivotal Events

Are age cohorts shaped by epochal events, or just by a year in the calendar? what events shaped you? Share your views!

Friday, May 20, 2022

Open Thread Update: Time Bandits

Surveys, spam calls…is getting older like having an unpaid second job? Readers weigh in on the time – and timewasters – it takes to manage modern life. Add yours!

Friday, May 6, 2022

Open Thread Update: Money Hacks!

Readers share their best money-saving tips. Who knew white vinegar was so versatile? Add your best money-saving hacks here!

Friday, April 22, 2022

Open Thread Update: Book It!

Readers share books that bring joy, laughter, and peace. What do you read when you need a lift?

Friday, April 8, 2022

Open Thread Update: Speak, Memory

Lost your keys? Missed an appointment? Check out the memory hacks and tips submitted by readers, add your tips, and take our survey.

Friday, March 25, 2022

Open Thread Update: Happy Birthday, WWW.

The World Wide Web is 33 this month! Readers describe the first thing they saw or downloaded. Share your story in the comments!

Friday, March 11, 2022

Open Thread Update: Is This Something?

Did your body play the “Something or Nothing” guessing game on you? Share your experience in the comments.

Friday, February 25, 2022

Open Thread Update: Online Dating Follies

Readers weigh in on the challenges and rewards of online dating, and a surprising look at the challenges facing vegans and vegetarian online daters.

Friday, February 11, 2022

Open Thread Update: Facing up to Facebook

Readers weigh in about Facebook – pros and cons. Make your voices heard and take our poll.

Friday, January 28, 2022

Open Thread Update: Job Search Follies

Readers sound off on their pet peeve about the online job search process. Add yours!