Category: Healthy Aging

Thursday, March 25

Alcohol Use: One Woman’s Story

Late-in-life problem drinkers are a mostly hidden story. Read about one woman’s story of discovery and recovery.

Thursday, March 18

Avoid Statins and Other Meds with These Lifestyle Changes

Clean up your act and avoid meds for cholesterol, blood sugar, and bone density.

Friday, March 12

Open Thread Update: Vaccination Follies

The votes are in! Most readers agree that looking for an appointment to get the vaccine was more of a pain than the actual needle.

Thursday, March 11

Bone Up on a Key Health Issue!

At risk for osteopenia or osteoporosis? Take our quiz and test your bone health smarts.

Thursday, March 4

Avoid Clinical Trial Scams

Before you take part in a clinical trial, read this!

Thursday, February 18

When Your Heart Turns 65…

Is it heartburn…or a heart attack? If you’re 65 or older, only your cardiologist knows for sure.

Thursday, February 11

Are You Ready for Your Post-Pandemic Closeup?

Curious about a little ‘tuneup’ ahead of your ‘return to society” in 2021?

Thursday, January 21

Have a Healthier New Year

Start the New Year off right with these top five health and wellness tips.

Friday, January 8

COVID Vaccine: When’s My Turn?

Will we have to wait any longer for this long-awaited COVID vaccine? Get the latest info here!!

Wednesday, December 30

Christmakkah Holiday Cookies

Gingerugelach, Apple Crumblets and Rumprints – three totally original web-inspired treats for your holiday baking pleasure.

Wednesday, December 9

Vaccine Update

Here’s a quick update on the status of vaccines for COVID-19.

Wednesday, November 4

Medicare: What to Know for 2021

Get fast facts about lower costs for insulin and other changes in Medicare for 2021.

Monday, October 26

Health and Minorities: Disparities and Solutions

The early death of Chadwick Boseman revealed challenges in health care for African Americans.

Friday, October 2

International Day of Older Persons

The International Day of Older Persons brings to light the challenges and inequities facing older people worldwide.

Wednesday, September 16

Don’t Fall – for Anything!

Get the scoop on how to prevent falls; learn more at the upcoming Senior Planet Falls Prevention Workshop online on September 23.