Author: Virge

Friday, September 17, 2021

Open Thread: Twenty Years Ago Today.

Where were you on 9/11?

Friday, September 10, 2021

Open Thread Update: Retirement. Ready?

A few choice observations about retirement and what it feels like…and a heads up about a scary proposed change in Social Security.

Friday, August 27, 2021

Open Thread Update: Phone Fatigue

Our readers weigh in on cellphone addiction and describe their top three cellphone peeves. What are yours? Give us your thoughts!

Friday, August 13, 2021

Open Thread Update: Call Me…Maybe

Readers weigh in with their communications and cellphone pet peeves – wow!

Friday, July 30, 2021

Open Thread Update: Your Money Hacks!

The money saving ideas in our readers’ comments add up to big savings in gas, paper, household products and more. Share your budget secret and join the party!

Friday, July 16, 2021

Open Thread Update: Summer Plans

Picnics, outdoor concerts, and other fresh-air-events and activities are on the social calendar for readers this summer. What are your plans?

Sunday, July 4, 2021

Name That Firework!

Is it a Strobe, or a Waterfall? You’ll be able to ‘name that firework” when you watch the festivities.

Friday, July 2, 2021

Open Thread Update: Senior Life Hacks

Ditch those heavy purses, simplify laundry day, and find other hacks to make life easier and more convenient with these Senior Life Hacks.

Friday, June 4, 2021

Open Thread Update: Don’t Call Me a “Senior Citizen”

We can all agree that “Young Man” or “Young Lady” is not the way to address anyone over 60.

Friday, May 21, 2021

Open Thread Update: Best Mother’s Day

Our readers share some touching stories about the best Mother’s Day gift they ever got.

Friday, May 7, 2021

Open Thread Update: More Movies!

What movies would you take with you to a desert island? Charade? The Maiden Heist? Readers speak out!

Sunday, April 11, 2021

Open Thread: Hooray for Hollywood!

The Academy Awards are coming, with a lot of historic firsts. Which film will get “Best Picture”? Take our poll!

Friday, April 9, 2021

Open Thread Update: What a Dilemma!

This week’s Open Thread continues a discussion on a very tricky problem in the bedroom.

Friday, March 26, 2021

Open Thread Update: Opening Up? Or Still Closed?

Readers weigh in with what they’ve been up to, during the lockdown and now as things open up. How about you? What was the first thing you did? Let us know in the comments!

Friday, March 12, 2021

Open Thread Update: Vaccination Follies

The votes are in! Most readers agree that looking for an appointment to get the vaccine was more of a pain than the actual needle.