Category: Stories of Change

Wednesday, October 7

Funny Girl: How Jane Stone Started Stand-Up in her 70s

What’s so funny about living alone in lockdown? Senior Planet Member Jane Stone asks “What isn’t?!”

Wednesday, September 16

Snehlata, 69: “I feel connected again”

Meet Snehlata, a member of our Connected NYCHA program, who is learning to use her very first tablet — and loving it!

Wednesday, September 2

Liliana Cortez, 76: Strong and Ready to Serve

A lifelong interest in yoga and other holistic practices helped Liliana Cortez make an important decision.

Wednesday, August 26

Arline Rubin: Crafting Her Way Through Quarantine

NYC Member, Arline, is staying sane inside by staying busier than ever with a dizzying array of crafts…and a few Senior Planet online classes.

Monday, August 17

Happy Senior Citizens Day!

Join us on August 21 as we mark Senior Citizens’ Day with a special Zoom discussion about following your dreams.

Wednesday, August 5

Senior Planet Montgomery Inspires New Shopping Habits

Drive to the store? Not anymore! Members talk about Senior Planet Montgomery’s Shopping on Amazon workshop

Wednesday, July 22

Doris Slay-Barber is Aging with HAT-titude

Doris Slay-Barber spent decades working in the San Antonio school system, building a legacy (and some software) that will last for decades to come.

Wednesday, June 24

Meet the Member: Suzi Fogarty 

Denver’s newest cover girl talks about her new writing career and says “I was born with attitude, then I survived with attitude. Now I’m aging with attitude.”

Friday, June 5

Joan, 67: Finding Motivation During COVID-19

We caught up with Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete Joan Janek, who is putting down the cake, and picking up the tempo!

Wednesday, May 27

Patsy Lynn LaFlam: Creativity in Quarantine

Member Patsy Lynn uses creativity to spread joy during quarantine in the North Country.

Wednesday, April 15

Carol Klenfner, 74: Play is the Best Four Letter Word

Ping Pong opened up a whole new world – with new friends (and a few awards!) for this senior athlete.

Thursday, April 2

David Hill, 63: Putting In The Work

Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete David Hill shares how he’s been rejuvenated through running.

Monday, March 16

Joan Janek, 67: Mastering Fear

Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete Joan Janek shares how pushing her physical boundaries helped her prepare for the fight of her life.

Wednesday, March 4

Aging with Attitude: Dollie Nixson Never Gives Up

A Senior Planet member describes her inspirational story and her motto: Never give up!

Friday, February 28

Burr Daly, 81: It’s Never Too Late

A partial knee replacement changed Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete Burr Daly’s perspective on his love of track and field.