Category: Stories of Change

Wednesday, March 31

Daryl Ries: Living Abroad and Loving It…and Life

One Senior Planet participant reports on living abroad from her winter home in Panama.

Friday, March 12

Victor: “It was an essential part of me being hired.”

Meet Victor, a member of our Connected NYCHA program, who was able to get a new job with his new tablet!

Wednesday, March 10

What’s Your (Short) Story?

An online short story discussion group is building community thanks to one innovative Senior Planet trainer.

Wednesday, February 24

Lisa Holzkenner on Poetry, Power and Perseverance

“Yes, I have a dream. Imagine, yes, imagine, what it would be like if we could find new paths…”

Wednesday, February 17

One Lesson, Three Lives

How could one simple tech lesson change three lives? A Senior Planet trainer tells the story.

Wednesday, December 16

Mind, Body, and Spirit: Sponsored Athletes 2020 Wrap-Up

In a year unlike any other, the Senior Planet Sponsored Athletes took a holistic approach to wellness — putting physical and mental health to the test.

Thursday, December 3

Chinta: “Think of it like a door – open it and explore.”

Meet Chinta, a member of our Connected NYCHA program, who has been learning and thriving with her new tablet.

Wednesday, November 25

Meet the Member: Lezrette Hutchinson

Lezrette is transforming her mental and physical health with the help of Senior Planet while staying in lockdown in New York.

Friday, November 20

Liliana Cortez, 76: Learning Every Day

Gardening in the Bronx? This Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete is finding creative ways to stay fit and healthy.

Friday, November 6

David Hill, 63: Spreading His Wings

Sponsored Athlete David is embracing retirement and navigating his way through the pandemic by walking, running, and even birding.

Wednesday, October 28

Cathy, 67: “I Have Pivoted”

Meet Cathy, a member of our Connected NYCHA program, who has been learning and thriving with her new tablet.

Tuesday, October 27

Meet a Member: Frederick Weston

Senior Planet remembers artist, activist, and revered member, Frederick Weston.

Friday, October 23

Joan Janek, 67: Stress Fighter

After surviving a series of stressful events, Sponsored Athlete Joan is sharing healthy tips for living life to the fullest.

Friday, October 16

Burr Daly, 81: Training in the Era of COVID-19

This Senior Planet Sponsored Athlete won’t let anything get in the way of his training. With help from friends, and technology, Burr is back on the track.

Friday, October 9

Menny Borovoski’s “Seeing Eye”

Senior Planet member Menny Borovoski’s photography workshop opens a new way of seeing to members.