Category: Open Thread

Sunday, April 11

Open Thread: Hooray for Hollywood!

The Academy Awards are coming, with a lot of historic firsts. Which film will get “Best Picture”? Take our poll!

Friday, April 9

Open Thread Update: What a Dilemma!

This week’s Open Thread continues a discussion on a very tricky problem in the bedroom.

Friday, March 26

Open Thread Update: Opening Up? Or Still Closed?

Readers weigh in with what they’ve been up to, during the lockdown and now as things open up. How about you? What was the first thing you did? Let us know in the comments!

Friday, March 12

Open Thread Update: Vaccination Follies

The votes are in! Most readers agree that looking for an appointment to get the vaccine was more of a pain than the actual needle.

Friday, February 26

Open Thread Update: Valentine’s Day

The comments in this blog post reveal a lovely tradition at one residence. Any traditions you practice? Let us know in the comments!

Friday, February 12

Open Thread final: Your 2021 Playlist

We’re giving our readers more time to go through your vinyl, CDs, and Spotify lists and tell us your theme songs for 2021. Send us your playlists!

Friday, January 29

Open Thread Update: Your Hopes and Predictions for 2021

Readers share their predictions and hopes for 2021 about vaccines, social media and more. Hang in till summer!

Friday, January 15

Open Thread Final Update: That Was the Year That Was….

Finally we close out the books on the dumpster fire that was 2020. Read some parting shots.

Friday, December 4

Open Thread Follow up: Guilty Pleasures

Binge watching TV while eating popcorn topped with…..whaaaaat?

Friday, November 20

Open Thread Update: Attention Product Developers!

Our readers sound off on small print, poor volume, hard-to-open packaging and other ‘age-unfriendly” products and product designs.

Friday, November 13

Open Thread Update: What Made You Happy Today?

Do your simple joys match any of the ones mentioned by our readers? If we’ve missed any of your favorites, please share!

Friday, November 6

Open Thread Update: The Best Book(s) You Ever Read?

Members share the books that they reread every year or so. Are any of them on your booklist?

Friday, October 30

Open Thread Update: Why Didn’t Anyone Tell Me??!!

Readers dish about the surprising highs, lows and workarounds of getting older. One reader learned to surf!

Friday, October 23

Open Thread Update: Back to Normal Yet? Feel safe?

Are you getting whiplash keeping up with the changes?

Friday, October 16

Open Thread Update: Post-Pandemic Predictions

Here’s a look at what readers predicted for the post-pandemic world. Does it match your ideas?