Author: Erica Manfred

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Meet the Raging Grannies: Troublemakers in Disguise

Grassroots “gaggles” of politically active older women are forming across North America.

Monday, February 27, 2017

The Surrogate Grandparents Facebook Group

An “estranged grandmother” is helping people who want to be grandparents find matches with grandparent-less families.

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Starting Over: From La-Z-Boy Manager to 3-D Photographer

Persistence, a willingness to learn and a part-time job at Whole Foods helped Bill Robinson realize his dream. Now he’s his own boss.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

The Beauty of Older Bodies

Jade Beall wants her photographs to change the way you—and the 20-year-old who’s grossed out by your nakedness—see your body.

Monday, January 16, 2017

Aging Out of Place in Florence, Italy

Newly widowed, this retiree sold up and moved herself and her dog to a place where she feels completely at home.

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

A WW2 Vet Revisits the Town He Liberated — Without Leaving Home

Thanks to virtual reality, French townspeople got to thank this nonagenarian for his service. Get a 360-degree view of what he saw.

Friday, December 23, 2016

These Tech Products Might Make a Difference for Seniors   

Presentations at a recent Gerontological Society of America meeting suggest ways forward for senior-friendly tech.

Monday, December 19, 2016

Starting Over: From Guidance Counselor to Actor

Vickie Klein took a chance after retirement — she’s now working onstage as a professional. Here’s how she did it.

Friday, December 9, 2016

I’m Not Aging “Well” — I’m Getting Old, Goddammit

95-year-old marathon runners, 73-year-old power lifters…. “Aging well” marginalizes seniors who have physical limitations.

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

How Diane Abt Built a New Life as a Professional Artist

Some people know what they want to be when they grow up, but life gets in the way. Retirement offers the opportunity to revisit childhood dreams.

Monday, October 24, 2016

Aging With Attitude: Lil Mema, AKA Abby Cohen

The 79-year-old retired professor-turned-YouTube rapper is on a mission to get out the vote — even if you don’t like the candidates.

Monday, October 17, 2016

Knock, Knock, Knockin’ on Voters’ Doors

Seniors are heading to battleground states to help get out the vote. Learn what it’s like and what you can do.

Friday, September 30, 2016

Wrestling with Regret

Part of growing wiser is learning to look forward instead of back. Here’s one woman’s journey.

Monday, September 12, 2016

The Latest in Hearing Aids & Hearables

The latest hearing aids — and new ways to buy them — are cutting costs and making listening easier.

Monday, August 8, 2016

What You Need to Know Before You Visit an Audiologist

Not all audiology services are created equal. Know how to get the best and pay less before you go.